Tim Allen Books - First Editions, SIgned & Rare Books
Email

Password
  Browse Categories  
 

 HARDBACK
 Just In
 ANGLING
 Future Releases
 Topography
 Rupert Annuals
 Horror
 Limited Editions
 Literary
 SciFi / Fantasy
 Historical Fiction
 Children's
 Crime
 Auto/Biography
 History/Military
 Military Fiction
 Observer Books
 Mountaineering / Travel
 spy/thriller
 Folio Society

 
     
  Future Releases  
 

 
Search
Go
Home About Us Basket Your Account
The Road to Kandahar
by John Wilcox


     
Publisher:
  Headline
Published Date:
  7 March 2005
ISBN: 0755309847
Price   £24.99
First Edition     First Print  
 
Hardback book in dustjacket. Book and dustjacket in very fine new unread condition. Signed by the author directly on the title page.
Book Description
Second in a brilliant new series of adventures with the British army in the late nineteenth century, in the tradition of Bernard Cornwell and C.S. Forester.
Synopsis
It's July 1879 and Lieutenant Simon Fonthill is preparing to leave South Africa with his servant '352' Jenkins. Disillusioned with the British army after fighting in the Zulu wars, they are both determined to resign their commissions. However, Fonthill's talents as a soldier have not gone unnoticed and Colonel Lamb, in charge of intelligence, persuades him to join his next operation. And so Fonthill finds himself on his way to Afghanistan, where trouble is brewing for the small British force stationed there. Commanded by General Roberts, they are under orders to protect the British mission in the capital, Kabul, and desperately need reliable intelligence of any imminent attack. Thus Fonthill is sent on a difficult and dangerous mission deep into the Afghan mountains to gain information, the threat of capture and torture by the local tribes constantly hanging over him. Will Fonthill survive and break through to warn Roberts of the united force that is set to rise up against him? Or is it his fate to perish in the mountains at the hands of a brutal enemy?
 
     
 
 
 
 
 
 
Maestro Mastercard Solo Switch Visa Electron

© Tim Allen Books
Site by 3UU Designs